Labels

Published March 4, 2014 by Katier Scott

Personally I’m one of the many people who HATE labels.. but sometimes they are required to get on in life. The one label I find interesting, however, is Transgender.

The Oxford dictionary states “Denoting or relating to a person whose self-identity does not conform unambiguously to conventional notions of male or female gender.” 

while it also defines Transsexual as “A person who emotionally and psychologically feels that they belong to the opposite sex”

Now the reason I find it interesting is based on a conversation I had with a couple of American friends. In the UK, Transgender (TG) and Transsexual (TS) are used fairly interchangeably. By the strict definition used in LGBT or similar, Transgender covers everyone, including Cross dressers and Transvestites, however it definitely includes Transsexuals. 

Within the UK in my experience people suffering from Gender use the TG and TS terms pretty much interchangeably, however based on that conversation the two are treated extremely seperately in the US.

Indeed my friend got extremely offended by the term TG, it would appear some parts of the US ‘tar’ TS and TV with the same brush and use it to effect the rights of Gender Dysphoric people, however in the UK it’s very much a case of “Treat a person as they appear and how you would want to be treated.”

As such firstly I would be interested to hear from people about their feelings on this subject and bare in mind that if I do use the TG ‘label’ please don’t get offended :). 

One comment on “Labels

  • Personally, I don’t use them separately and don’t understand how an educated person would when they have the same meaning. I have always made it a practice to treat others as I would hope they would treat me.

  • Leave a Reply

