Week 32 – Day 2 : So you think you can tell….

Published September 30, 2014 by Katier Scott

One of my favourite songs, with a great opening line and the latest song I’ve covered at an open Mic with help from a very good friend.

But the reason I decided to open with such an iconic line is because the background to this song can easily be how Transexuals can feel and the struggles they feel. As David Gilmour tells us in his interview from 2011 just how much of a struggle Pink Floyd faced to get the album done.. We face similar struggles, alienation and loneliness are very common and many of us face depression to some degree.

I love music and for me the thing that grabs me about songs is the story behind them or the story they are telling. Man in the Mirror by Michael Jackson is another example, but in this case there’s just something about wish you were here that resonates and hence I decided to open this weeks blog with it.

This week has been as hectic as ever and if anything I hope this blog will inspire other Transsexuals, or even other people who are going through their own internal struggles, the fight and try to live life to the full. Go out with confidence and you’ll find that the wide world out there is surprisingly not as prejudiced as you might think. I just do what I want to do, and get on with it.. and haven’t yet gone somewhere and thought “Damn that was bad..”.

For those who’ve missed it previously the list of things I’ve done without problems include :-

  • Charity work including looking after young children in a creche style environment and teaching 5-7 year olds.
  • Helping run market stalls and car boots.
  • Doing a degree at University (which was the trigger that gave me the confidence)
  • I’m currently working at the same University in a customer facing role.
  • Worked with people with disabilities.
  • Crewed at LARP events.
  • Helped setup NEC exhibitions.
  • Taken part in Open-Mic’s
  • Done motorsport Marshalling

and never once can I say that I’ve gone there and met any noticeable degree of transphobia.. sure on isolated cases there have been one off problems but I wouldn’t even say I needed a thick skin to cope as it’s that infrequent it’s not a problem.

So as I’ve said before just be yourself and remember your a normal human being, walk with confidence and just enjoy life – if you think “I want to try that” – well go and try it!!

On the job front I’ve still not got promotion at work, however I did have probably my best interview ever. It sounds from my feedback that I gave them a real headache and the only thing they could split us on was the fact I hadn’t thought in enough depth about where I saw the role going in the next few months. Overall if anything I interviewed better than the candidate who got the job, just failed to think far enough into the future – which is a shame.. but given the job was for a supervisor and I felt I was pushing my luck a bit with the application I am more than happy to know I CAN get to that level.

Unfortunately the interview meant I’ve had to delay my next Gender Clinic appointment but I have a doctors appointment tomorrow to check the hormone levels.

So to refer back to the opening line and the song and move down to the end of the track..

“We’re just two lost souls
Swimming in a fish bowl,
Year after year,
Running over the same old ground. ”

Look out from that fishbowl.. look at something you really fancy doing.. and DO IT!!

Leave a Reply

