Week 54 – Day 4 : Random ramblings..

Published March 6, 2015 by Katier Scott

Wasn’t sure what to focus on this week, it’s been a bit random and lots going on, so trying to focus on a theme has been pretty much impossible.

I’ve started a new sport, Roller Derby, which I’ve already fallen in love with – heck I think I was in love with it before I even strapped on a pair of skates!! If you’re looking for a spot, and think you can handle the fact Roller Derby is a tough, full contact, sport, I can recommend you try it out. Don’t worry about not being able to skate as they are used to taking on non-skaters and you won’t practice full contact until your comfortable AND have shown you can do certain things on skates.

I’m very much someone who enjoys living life at high speed and isn’t afraid of a bit of rough and tumble – or in the case of Derby – a LOT of rough and tumble! So Derby is right up my street and expecting to really enjoy it, but the best bit about those with Gender Dysphoria, is it’s a sport that is extremely inclusive. They won’t bat an eyelid at you wanting to join the ladies teams, and of course it is predominantly a ladies sport. There are Co-Ed and mens teams too, but they are in the minority and I’d highly recommend joining a full ladies team – this is because it’ll do your confidence good to be playing a ladies sport, as a lady, and should help out with any visits to the Gender Clinic as they like to see you doing the same thing as any other woman might do!

My flat mate has finally left too, he was a nice enough guy but had habits and issues which just made it impossible for me to allow him to stay and he did leave the living room, which in the last two weeks he essentially took over as his own, his room, and the kitchen in a terrible state. I’ve now cleaned the kitchen more or less, couple of bits to finish but it’s taken me 3 hours, and also the living room – which is getting a partial redecoration so is topsy turvy rather at the moment. When it’s finished the living room will loose it’s horrible, pealing, dark brown wall paper and be replaced by a nice purpley coloured wall.

On the transition front I received my first report from the Voice therapist. It makes interesting reading, although some things I think she was a bit over the top with, or wrong, but that’s because she’s that kind of person. A bit like an old school head mistress!! Perhaps the most interesting thing is that the report seems to imply that I already have some female intonation patterns.. bit of a hybrid, which at least means I’m not starting from scratch!

I’ve finally sorted the training, next week, for my new second job so that’s also progress and means once again, next week is going to be very busy! Nothing new then šŸ™‚

Due to the flat mate and being busy not been able to do anything on the book, but have two trips to Sheffield over the rest of this month so plan on spending time writing while on the train, plus making time once the new job training is out of the way.

Leave a Reply

