Week 64 – Day 7 : Making progress.

Published May 17, 2015 by Katier Scott

So what a week, as you know I’ve been treading water with a lot of stuff recently but while none of them are completely sorted there has been definite progress.

The book, Born a Woman, is now up to 5500 words and making slow, but steady progress. I’m going on a long train journey in a couple of weeks so plan on putting a few 1000 more words on the count during the trip, alongside steady progress in the intervening time. 10-12000 by the end of the month would be nice.

I finally made progress with the complaint with Porterbrook, I had a very pleasant phone call with the consultant who had been assigned my case, and he clearly agreed with my complaint. While he couldn’t commit to any decisions without talking to Porterbrook he agreed that the way Porterbrook had handled my transfer wasn’t correct and sounded extremely surprised that they refer to Leeds for the second opinion rather than simply trying to arrange the next available appointment. It sounded like his plan A is to find out which clinic can give me the earliest appointment and go from there, but he couldn’t commit to anything. At least it was a positive telephone call which kicked off, for me, a fantastic week.

I’m going in tomorrow to sort out my ID for my second job, so that’s great, means hopefully my financial position will improve soon, and remove a little stress. It’ll also mean I can start generating experience relevant to my future career as a Mental Health Nurse, speaking of which got my Occupational Health appointment for that on 1st June. Heard about that this week so that was good.

Roller Derby has also been positive this week, despite a poor performance on Weds I pulled it back, then enjoyed a fantastic skate with some of the league in the local park. I topped that off by, with the help of one of the experienced members of the team, choosing my derby name – Rita Skate Worth – which finished off a slightly crazy, but brilliant week.

As you can probably imagine I’m in quite a positive place now, next week I’m off LARPing although I have to confess not massively looking forward to it. The weather forecast is poor and I burnt myself out in the mud last event, so bit worried same might happen again.

Leave a Reply

