Week 67 : Day 2 – Living Life one Goal at a time.

Published June 2, 2015 by Katier Scott

When I started Roller Derby in later February I really didn’t expect my life to change so much in so short a time. In many ways it’s not changed at all, but my perspective and the way I look at myself, what I’m getting up to and what I’m thinking about has changed a lot.

One way it’s changed is the subject of this weeks post, the way I think of targets, and on reflection how I believe they can help anyone, where ever they are. Give yourself realistic goals, enjoy your successes and use them to try to help move on with life.

I set myself a target which was pretty optomistic when I started Roller Derby, then surprised myself when I came closer to the goal than I expected, which resulted in over confidence and ultimately probably made me come over as a person I wouldn’t want to be.

Conversations with friends followed and I realised I needed to tone myself down, look at what I wanted to do in smaller steps and actually set goals which were more realistic. For example last weekend I did an event called the South Coast Roll, it’s an event held at Goodwood Motorracing Circuit in the south of England and involves doing laps of the circuit on Roller Skates, Skateboards, Scooters, wheel chairs or similar forms of transport.

I gave myself a target that I felt was realistic, 4-6 laps or 10-14.4 miles, with each lap being 2.4 miles and the actual target being a half Marathon distance. I felt it was a realistic target as I had 5 hours to skate, knew I could cope with that long on skates from a Boot Camp I had done, and felt I’d have plenty of time to rest if required. In the event I managed 16.8 miles, 7 laps, and was really pleased, I had achieved and beaten a personal goal – and done so partially because I’d considered what was realistic and stuck to my guns. I would LOVED to have aimed for 11 laps, i.e. a Marathon, but knew that was a hard, or unrealistic target, and thus would have been disappointed at the end of the event.

Such a mentality can work in anything, in my opinion, and goals can be small, baby steps, things that get you one little step to a bigger target.

So maybe your just starting the journey in your real gender, but your feeling nervous about simply going to the local shops as the real you. Maybe initially just set the target of walking to the end of your road and back, maybe even wait till it’s a time of the day when it’s quiet. Give yourself some confidence just by getting out. Just a small step, in a big journey.

Maybe your out of work and sitting at home demotivated all day, so set yourself to get out and walk around the local park tomorrow, then set the goal to repeat it every day for a week. Then every day, regardless of the weather, for a month etc.

Or simple things to make you feel better, like getting into a routine, waking up at 8am, getting up, getting dressed, having breakfast, doing the washing up or a bit of housework before 10am.

Stuck at home and short on money? Maybe set yourself of simply going to the Library, or find a group to volunteer with.

There are lots of little goals you can give yourself to help yourself improve your standard of life, and that is what I feel I’ve learnt most in the recent weeks. I’ve been lax with my music in the last month or so, partially down to losing my voice for a month, but also partially because I’ve simply not been organised – so I’m going to set my own goal to teach myself ‘Dirty old town’ with the intent to sing along to it, in the next month. I know it’s a song I can play the chords to, I know the song to sing as I’ve sung it with a good friend of mine, so I feel that’s a perfectly realistic goal.

Hopefully this post will encourage you all to think about little goals aimed at improving your standard of life, they can have timescales, like mine above, or simply improving an aspect of your life, yourself or a skill your working on. For example my roller derby goals (alongside simply improving skills) are to improve the quality of my cross-overs and transitions. It’ll be an ongoing pair of skills, probably for quite a while – and most likely for most of my derby career, but it’s a goal to simply keep improving it. At some point another skill will become the same ‘goal’ but it’s simply me trying to improve my ability in a sport I love.

I’d love to hear about any goals you set yourself, feel free to comment or send me a message about what you think about this weeks thoughts.

Leave a Reply

