Week 70 – Day 2 : Having pride in yourself.

Published June 23, 2015 by Katier Scott

My blog seems to be taking on a bit more of a motivational angle over the last few weeks, I guess it’s understandable as it’s a reflection of what I’m going day-to-day, however I really hope that people are getting something out of these posts. I find it really hard to know whether I should keep going, there’s the book going alongside this blog to think about, of course, but the number of followers on the blog has stagnated and I don’t know why. I’m no blogging expert, or expert on how to increase followers, I have of course got an increase in numbers to a degree through Facebook as my friends list has increased, but most of the time I’m willing to bet the post gets lost in a sea of other posts. This isn’t me looking for self pity, or anything similar, it’s simply a case of not understanding, or knowing, what makes a good blog, whether my blog ‘is’ a good blog, and all the other ingredients that go with blogging.

Ultimately I’d really like to sell some copies of ‘Born a Woman’ when it’s published, and this blog was, alongside being intended to be helpful and interesting, also the front face of marketing for that, and if I’m not getting followers that’s failing somewhat. I’ve not lost the will to write the book, it’s stagnated a little but that’s purely bad time management, but definitely keeping going with it. It’s just the blog I’m getting a little frustrated with.

That said I’m proud of what I have achieved, I was reading a website earlier and it made me realise just how powerful pride is.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA This photo is of me during The Suffering race I took part in a few weeks ago and I love it. Not only does it really capture the feeling of the race. Many event photo’s catch moments, but don’t really capture the feeling of an event, I feel the composition of this photo really manages that brilliantly.

This was taken at around 10km into the race, we’d recently waded through deep muddy water, hence the black all over my lower half, and I was struggling with my knee. I was also starting to feel the cold, despite the fact it was a beautiful sunny day.

I’m extremely proud of finishing this event, and just like last weeks post on achievements, pride is a great way to remember things aren’t all bad. Pride makes you feel good and can be linked to achievements or completely separate.

I’m proud of my kids, like all kids they’ve had their moments, but my daughter has a degree and a job, my eldest son successfully got himself on an apprenticeship, completed it, and my youngest is hopefully going to University in September. I don’t get to see them as much as I would like, but they’re at an age when I think that’s not unusual and they always know I’m here.

I’m proud of who I am, I have my faults, I’m far from perfect, and I’m going through a period of of understanding myself better, but I don’t think it’s wrong to be proud of myself.

I’m getting a lovely smile on my face thinking about the different things that make me feel proud, my Roller Derby team, my brilliant friends, my degree, getting into University again – wow boy am I proud of that, one of my biggest achievements and I’ve not even started the course!

So what are you proud of? Being proud of things are similar to the achievements in last weeks posts, and some will be the same, but they can also be much more, kids and having friends, or being proud of who you are, aren’t really achievements, but they are important all the same.

Anyway that’s enough of my rambling this week, I’d really appreciate some thoughts, both about the blog, and my recent posts, are they useful?

Leave a Reply

