Week 77 – Day 3 : Ooops I did it again…

Published August 5, 2015 by Katier Scott

Missed a week that is!!

My excuse is I was very busy and I’m sticking to it!!

I’ve actually got on and done things, it’s amazing really how much better I feel. Stress crept up on me without me knowing, but the fact a lot of the time I’d just mess on the computer and wouldn’t really feel inspired to do anything was a symptom I didn’t notice until the last week or two.

Whereas the only ‘going out’ thing I was really wanting to do was Roller Derby (and even then I sometimes only went because I ‘had to’) now I am enjoying going out again. I’ve got Roller Derby practice tonight and can’t wait, I went out to the local pub last night just because I wanted to and have actually, to use the fun phrase some people use on social media. ‘Adulted’ – Got on and done so much recently from cooking, to tidying, going out and meeting friends and just generally being very busy. Even most of my clothes have been put away!!

I really do feel like I’m a lot more back to normal than I probably have been all year.. but what’s really bizarre is I actually see 2015 as a pretty damned good year! January and February were tough because of issues with my former flat mate but I carried on making friends and once he left and I started Roller Derby things looked up.

Despite the stress I have still managed to do two Empires, done better than I expected in Roller Derby, taken part in my first OCR and really the only thing that dropped off a bit was my Music. I think that’s the biggest symptom I completely missed, while I would go out occasionally to open mics I’m not sure I was entirely myself – I sang occasionally but stopped listening to music so much and completely stopped playing guitar for about 3 months!

Suddenly I’m listening to music again and practising guitar again. Heck I feel I’m even starting to make a bit of progress with G-C chord transitions.. as one of my best friends would say ‘Whoop’ – essentially August seems to be the month where goals I set 2 months ago might actually start to materialise.

Surgery is also making progress, I had an appointment 2 weeks ago which confirmed Sheffield have ok’d their referral and last week received a letter confirming they’d sent a letter to Northampton GIC for my second referal. The two GIC’s have talked and apparently 4 months is approximately when I can expect an appointment, so should have all the Referrals done this year. Surgery will be tricky as I’ll have started Uni, but not insurmountable, but nice to be making progress.

Another thing I hope to do in August is start at a Gym, while I’m pretty fit and have decent Cardio, I love Roller Derby and would like to be in the best shape possible for when I start actually playing the game. It’s also a bit of a ‘box tick’ for me as even 5 years down the line I have boxes that women do ‘normally’ I’d like to tick – Sunbathing in a bikini and swimming are two others! I’ll be looking at doing classes such as HIIT as I think they’ll benefit me most and I’ve done Circuit Training before and enjoyed it – so something I feel I’ll enjoy, especially as I’ll go with friends :).

Leave a Reply

